Group Picture 2015

Left to right: Jianhuai (Jackie) Ye, Arthur Chan, Catherine Gordon, Delin Mu, Kevin Goodman-Rendall, Anjelica Portelli, Mohammad Asif Iqbal (Jun 2015)


Principal Investigator

Dr. Arthur Chan (arthurwh.chan [~a~t~] utoronto  dot  ca) obtained his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Caltech and was a postdoctoral researcher at UC Berkeley from 2010 to 2013. He is interested in experimental and field studies of organic aerosol, and developing analytical techniques for studying complex mixtures. See Arthur’s CV.

Arthur teaches 2nd year Engineering Economics and a graduate course on Aerosol Physics and Chemistry.


Postdoctoral Scholars

LukasLukas Kohl ( lukas.kohl [~a~t~] utoronto dot ca) obtained an MSc at University of Vienna and a PhD at Memorial University of Newfoundland. He is broadly interested in using chemical and isotopic measurements to solve questions relevant to environmental issues, human health, and biogeochemistry. In the Chan Lab he studies how long the ashes and toxic compounds produced during a major wildfire persist in local house dust.


Graduate Students

Jianhuai (Jackie) Ye ( [~a~t~] mail dot utoronto dot ca) is a Ph.D. student from Beijing, China. He got his Bachelors of Science in Applied Chemistry at Beijing University of Chemical Technology, and Masters of Science in Organic Chemistry at Hiroshima University, Japan. Jackie is working on laboratory studies of atmospheric oxidation reactions and how they lead to organic aerosol formation.


Manpreet Takhar (manpreet.takhar [~a~t~] mail dot utoronto dot ca) is an M. A. Sc. student from India. She is currently studying the sources and transformation processes of semi volatile organic compounds (SVOCs) in urban Toronto, and developing methods for measurements of SVOCs and parameterization of SVOCs in air quality models.


ianchenGang (Ian) Chen (gangchen.chen [~a~t~] mail dot utoronto dot ca) is an M. A. Sc. Candidate from Jinhua, Zhejiang, China. Ian obtained his bachelor degrees in Chemical Engineering from Western University, Canada and Zhejiang University of Technology, China. Ian is working on developing color indicating techniques for particulate matter exposure, especially for solid-fuel cook stoves.


pictureShunyao (Sunya) Wang ( [~a~t~] mail dot utoronto dot ca) is an M. A. Sc. Candidate from Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China. Sunya obtained her bachelor degrees in Resources and Environment Sciences from Zhejiang University, China. She is developing analytical methods (IMS) to organic aerosol characterization for both lab and ambient samples, and evaluating the health impacts of secondary organic aerosol.

Carol.M#1Meng (Carol) Meng (meng.meng [~a~t~] mail dot utoronto dot ca) is an M. A. Sc. Candidate from Beijing, China. She is currently studying the Semi Volatile Organic Compounds (SVOCs) emitted from forest fires using gas chromatography mass spectrometry (GC/MS).


Undergraduate Students

profileMengxuan (Billy) Cai is a computer engineering student from University of Toronto. He is studying image processing technique and working on developing a smartphone app for measuring the PM concentration through taking pictures.



COOZE_bioMorgan Cooze is an Engineering Chemistry student from Queen’s University. She is studying the relation between gasoline composition and black carbon (BC) emissions by Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) vehicles.




Xin (Cynthia) Jing is a student in Engineering Science (Biomedical Engineering stream) at University of Toronto. She is studying the potential long-term health effects of forest fires.



Mi Tian (Visiting postdoctoral scholar, 2016): Chongqing Institute of Green and Intelligent Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Kevin Goodman Rendall (MASc., 2014-2016): Field service engineer, Bruker Corporation

Mohammad Asif Iqbal (MASc., 2014-2015): Graduate student, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Lauren Vysohlid (MEng., 2015-2016): Masters of Management, University of Toronto, Mississauga

Summer undergraduate students: Farhana Hoque (2013); Ruby Zhuang, Cullen Adam, Madhushan Perera (2014); Delin Mu, Anjelica Portelli, Catherine Gordon, Jamie Mark (2015); Ali Emam, Legeng Yu (2016)