Principal Investigator

Emma Master, Ph.D.
Emma Master, Ph.D.
    • July 2016 – : Professor
    • July 2011 – 2016: Associate Professor
    • November 2005 -: Assistant Professor
    • 2004-2005: PDF. Fungal Genomics Project, Concordia University, Montreal
    • 2002-2004: PDF. Wood Biotechnology, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden
    • 2002: Ph.D. Environmental Microbiology, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
  • 2016: ERC Consolidator Grant
  • 2014, 2016: Diran Basmadjian Teacher of the Year
  • 2013: Co-recipient of the Faculty Research Leader Award
  • 2010: FiDiPro Fellowship (Tekes, Finland)
  • 2009: Early Researcher Award (Ontario MRI)


Graduate Students

Maryam Arefmanesh
Chemo-enzymatic synthesis of catalytic lignins


Spencer Imbrogno
Chemo-enzymatic Synthesis of Oligosaccharide Building Blocks


Orysia Meouch
Enzymatic Conversion of Residual Protein Streams to Diamine Crosslinkers

Kylie O'Donnell
Kylie O’Donnell
Engineering Hydrophobins that Promote Cell Adhesion to Diverse Surfaces


Mabel Ting Wong
Discovery of New Lignocellulose Active Enzymes through Metagenomic Analysis of Natural and Industrial Anaerobic Digestion Systems


Post-Doctoral Fellows and Research Associates

Julie-Anne Gandier
Julie-Anne Gandier (Vanier Scholar; Weston Fellow)
Biophysical and Bioinformatic Analysis of Hydrophobins from Across the Sequence Spectrum


Olan Raji
Discovery and Development of Accessory Hemicellulose and Oxidoreductases for Hemicellulose Upgrading


Thu Vuong
Design and Production of Lignin and Xylan-active Oxidases


Ruoyu Yan
Ruoyu Yan
Characterization and Application of Family GH115 alpha-Glucuronidases for Xylan Engineering


Graduate Students and Post-Docs in Finland

  • Filip Mollerup (Aalto University, Finland): Discovery and Engineering of New Polysaccharide Oxidases
  • Ville Aumala (Aalto University, Finland): Engineering, Characterization and Application of Carbohydrate-active Transaminases
  • Vera Kutiavina (Aalto University, Finland): Discovery and Development of Novel Carbohydrate Esterases
  • Leamon Al Amin (Aalto University, Finland): Loosenins: Production and Biophysical Characterization
  • Antti Koistinen (Aalto University, Finland): Carbohydrate Oxidases for Xylo-oligosaccharide Activation
  • Maria Pogodajeva (Aalto University, Finland): Optimizing Enzyme Applications for Pulp Processing
  • Johanna Rytioja (Aalto University, Finland): Discovery and Development of Hemicellulose-active Oxidases
  • Mareike Monschein (Aalto University, Finland): Biophysical Characterization and Application of Non-catalytic Proteins for Lignocellulose Processing


Edita Jurak (PDF, Aalto U, 2018); Kim Kataja (MASc, Aalto U, 2018); Ben MacCormick (MASc 2017); Rachel Kwan (MASc 2017); Fakhria Razeq (MASc 2017); Roman Malekzai (MASc 2017); Galina Mai-Gisondi (Aalto University, PhD 2017); Weijun Wang (Research Associate 2016); Sergei Vilbik (MASc 2016); Maryam Foumani (PhD 2015); Mohammed Sherif (PhD 2015); Cody Sarch (MASc 2015); Manini Roy (MEng 2015); Marie Couturier (PDF 2015); Sedric Pankras (PDF 2014); Alex Tsai (PhD 2014), Resmi Capron (PDF 2013), Hitoshi Suzuki (PDF 2013, RIKEN), Dragica Jeremic (PDF 2012, faculty position), Robyn Goacher (PDF 2012, faculty position), Jacqueline MacDonald (PhD 2012), Sonam Majahan (PhD 2011), Mike Lacourt (MASc 2011), Yaseen Mottiar (MSc 2011), Debbie Waung (MASc 2010), Tom Canam (PDF 2010, faculty position), Liane Catalfo (MEng 2010), Lijun Wang (MASc 2009), Nick Wood (MASc 2008)